May 2017 006
Office Sign
County Office

The ChALC Board is made up of:

  • Twelve individuals nominated by Local Councils (with no more than six nominations from any Principal Authority Area), voted for by representatives attending the Annual Meeting and elected to serve a four year term;
  • A Chairman and a Deputy Chairman from above;
  • A President and up to three Vice-Presidents nominated by the Executive Board and confirmed by the Annual Meeting;
  • One representative appointed by each Partner Organisations including (but not exclusively) Cheshire West and Chester Council; Cheshire East Council, Cheshire Community Action and the Society of Local Council Clerks;
  • The Chief Officer of ChALC.

Each year 1/4 of the Board retires and the Annual Meeting votes for their preferred candidates. There is no barrier to an outgoing member standing for a further term of office (4 years). The membership is notified annually of who is standing down and who has been nominated.

Board Members for 2020-21 are:
Brian Kerr OBE — President
Cllr Lesley Smetham — Vice president
Cllr Frank Walton — Vice president
Cllr Philip Jackson — Chairman
Cllr Terry O'Neill — Deputy Chairman
Cllr Alan Bailey
Cllr Lillian Burns
Cllr Peter Bulmer
Cllr John Cornell
Cllr Judith Critchley
Cllr Stephen Jones
Cllr David Rowlands
Cllr Colin Todd
Cllr Francis Tunney
Cllr Steven Edgar — Cheshire East Representative
Cllr Mike Jones — Cheshire West and Chester Representative
John Heselwood — Cheshire Community Action Representative
Adam Keppel-Green — Society of Local Council Clerks Representative
Jackie Weaver — Chief Officer ChALC

© 2018 - 2021 Cheshire Association of Local Councils

Representing and promoting the interests of Local Councils in Cheshire