Local Council Award
Local Council Award (2)

The Local Council Award Scheme (LCAS) has been designed to celebrate the successes of the very best local councils and to provide a framework to support all local councils to improve and develop to meet their full potential. The scheme offers councils the opportunity to show that they meet the standards set by the sector, assessed by their peers, and to put in place the conditions for continued improvement.

Councils can apply for an award at one of three levels: —

Foundation - which demonstrates a council meets the requirements for operating lawfully and according to standard practice

Quality — which demonstrates that a council achieves good practice in governance, community engagement and council improvement

Quality Gold — which demonstrates that a council is at the forefront of best practice and achieves excellence in governance, community leadership and council development

The Local Council Award Scheme undergoes a review every year. To be successful local councils must demonstrate that they meet the criteria of the guidance that is in place at the date they submit their completed application form to their local accreditation panel.

Currently 13 Cheshire local councils hold an award. Set out below is the Council name, the date it was awarded and the date for reaccreditation

Foundation Tier

Cranage — February 2018 — February 2022
Goostrey — July 2018 — July 2022
Sandbach — May 2016 — May 2020
Willington — June 2018 - June 2022

Quality Tier

Alsager — November 2018 — November 2022
Newbold Astbury cum Moreton — May 2018 — May 2022
Threapwood - March 2017 - March 2021
Tilston — September 2017 — September 2021

Quality Gold Tier

Gawsworth — February 2018 — February 2022
Holmes Chapel — May 2016 — May 2020
Knutsford — June 2016 — June 2020
Somerford — August 2016 — August 2020
Upton by Chester — April 2019 — April 2023

For a short overview of the scheme and its benefits please follow this link

If you have any queries please contact Sharon Angus-Crawshaw (sharon-Angus-Crawshaw@chalc.org.uk

Download the Local Council Award Scheme Guidance

© 2018 - 2020 Cheshire Association of Local Councils

Representing and promoting the interests of Local Councils in Cheshire